Signature of Hella Jongerius’ exhibition catalogue

Friday 06 Sep 2019 from 4pm to 6pm

Free admission

Vue de la signature du catalogue d'Hella Jongerius © Lafayette Anticipations

At the end of the Tactile Research symposium, signature of the catalogue Interlace, textile research in the presence of designer Hella Jongerius and graphic designer Irma Boom.

The catalogue is designed by Irma Boom, with contributions from Hans Den Hartog Jager, Alice Rawsthorn, Anne Röhl and Christel Vesters. It is composed of several notebooks published partly on site during the exhibition. It also includes a glossary of terms linked to textile and Jongeriuslab’s research.

Price: 25 € on site, 30 € in bookstores
The designer Hella Jongerius has become known for the manner in which she fuses industry and craft, high- and low-tech, traditional and contemporary.

After graduating from Eindhoven Design Academy in 1993, she founded the Jongeriuslab studio, where she has pursued independent projects and also created products for major clients, including Maharam (New York), KLM, Kvadrat rugs and Royal Tichelaar Makkum (Netherlands), Ikea (Sweden) and Vitra (Basel). 

She has been the Art Director for colours and materials at Vitra for many years. Hella Jongerius leads on the same front fundamental research and industrial developments. A little more than two years ago, she wrote with Louise Schouwenberg a manifesto entitled Beyond the New which conspired frenetic desire for novelty in production, highlighting the need for common reference to fragile know-how, in ethical and societal considerations. This text but also the entire career of Hella Jongerius has a considerable influence on younger generations of creators. 

Works by Hella Jongerius have been shown at museums and galleries such as Lafayette Anticipations, Cooper Hewitt National Design Museum and MoMA (New York), Design Museum and Victoria & Albert Museum (London), Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen (Rotterdam), Moss Gallery (New York) and Galerie kreo (Paris). In 2017 Hella Jongerius was awarded the Sikkens Prize.