Phia Ménard


Phia Ménard is the artistic director and performer of the Compagnie Non Nova, which she founded in Nantes in 1998 with the desire to take a different look at juggling and its scenic and dramaturgical treatment.

"Non nova, sednove" (We don't invent anything, we see it differently) is a founding precept. In 2008, she initiated a research process entitled "I.C.E" for "Injonglabilité Complémentaire des Eléments" (Complementary Injunctibility of Elements), which consists of a creative, intellectual and imaginative approach to the notion of transformation, erosion or sublimation of natural materials such as ice, water, wind... and their interactions with human, physical or psychic behaviour. Several cycles have been initiated since 2008: Les Pièces de Glace: "P.P.P. ", "ICE MAN" and "Black Monodie"; The Wind Pieces: "L'après-midi d'un foehn version 1", "L'après-midi d'un foehn", "VORTEX" and "Les Os Noirs"; The Water and Steam Pieces: "Belle d'Hier" and "Saison Sèche"; The Sublimation Pieces: "No Way" and "La Trilogie des Contes Immoraux(pour Europe)". Her shows have been performed in France and around the world in more than 50 countries. In January 2014, she was promoted to the rank of Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres.